12.1 GENERAL

The estates of the College are listed in Section 2.1. The administration of these estates was of vital importance to the College, which for centuries relied almost entirely on its private income from college properties. Relatively speaking, College income from fees and investments was trifling, even in the eighteenth century, compared with the present position, while government grants were, of course, unknown before the twentieth century.

Until the nineteenth century, land held by the Colleges could not be sold, but only exchanged for lands of equal value. During the reign of Elizabeth I, with the aim of preventing the impoverishment of charitable foundations, a number of statutes were enacted which prevented Colleges from selling real estate, except by way of a Private Act of Parliament, and restricted the length of leases. At the same time, foundations were obliged to assess one third of their rent according to the current price of corn; this acted as a hedge against inflation, which was rapidly increasing in the later sixteenth century.

Following an Act of 1856 which applied only to Oxford colleges, the Universities and Colleges Estates Act of 1858 gave the colleges of Oxford, Cambridge, Durham, Winchester and Eton power to sell under certain conditions, subject to the consent of the Copyhold Commissioners. Proceeds had to be invested in land and trustee securities, rather than equities. At the same time the corn rents were abolished; they had become liablity as corn prices tumbled. Successive Universities and Colleges Estates Acts down to 1925 further loosened the restrictions.

Magdalen did not rush to sell its estates when the restrictions were relaxed by Parliament: indeed, it was still purchasing agricultural land throughout the 1930s. Magdalen was also involved in urban development in London in the 19th century, notably in Southwark, Wandsworth and the Royal Exchange Building.

From the sixteenth century the College estates were administered by the College steward, aided by local bailiffs who collected the rents. Stewards' names up to 1883 are recorded in the Libri Computi and Bloxam has a list of 17 names in MS 805. The Bursars had responsibility for general oversight of the estates, the holding of manorial courts and the sale of timber, and the 'Riding Bursars' went on local progresses in summer to see to these matters. By the late eighteenth century Magdalen, like other Colleges, was entrusting more of its financial business to Child's bank, which may explain why the quantity of estate papers and correspondence declines rapidly at that time.

Successive volumes of the History of the University of Oxford (general editor T.H. Aston) are invaluable for a general view of the college estates and their administration through the centuries. There are a number of papers and pamphlets on individual college estates in the search room, most of which are parish histories. A recent ms paper by David Spencer of the Department of Geography, University of Reading (unpublished at the time of citation, copy available in the archives searchroom), focusses on twentieth century development in Chalgrove, Oxfordshire.

The principal finding aid for the College's estate administration is Woolgar's ten-volume 'Catalogue of the Estate Archives…'. This catalogue lists the circuit accounts, the manorial court books and the contents of over 260 boxes of estate papers; the latter have been numbered in random order and sorted by post-1974 county and place. Woolgar covers the deeds, estate papers and volumes which are scattered through the following series:

M. Deeds; EP/1-261; EPB/1-12; CP/1-3, 8 [in part]; D-Y/1-457; MSS 273-275, 367, 623, 633, 820; ECB/1-83; MP/1 2-89 [part]; Fastolf Papers 1-105; Add. Charters 1-99; LMR Add. Deeds 1-23; ES/5-6 [part].

Note that in several cases the reference codes [EP/, EPB/, ECB/] have been assigned since the Woolgar catalogue was completed. This guide has not attempted to duplicate detailed information that is given in Woolgar, in particular for the estate papers (now EP/).

In addition to Woolgar, however, the indexed College Orders (CMM/) should always be checked for individual place-names, and there are some classes of estate archives which are not listed by Woolgar. The latter include post-1882 estate accounts, lease registers and lease counterparts, substantial collections of estate correspondence and maps later than 1800. These have the reference codes AO/; CS/; EL/; LE/; ES/1-13; BUR/Est; MP/1-3, LMR.

It should be noted that the College holds stray deeds and documents for many estates which were never owned by the College. All are listed in Woolgar's 'Catalogue' under their place names. For Fastolf Papers, Cromwell Papers and other family papers see Woolgar, Catalogue pp. 758-860 and the Macray calendar volumes.

Woolgar, 'Catalogue', p.lix, points out that there are nineteenth- and twentieth-century reports on the College estates in Lincolnshire, Norfolk and Suffolk in the Lincolnshire Archives Office (records of James Martin & Co., Wainfleet); also that the Stace collection in Northamptonshire R.O. contains leases and other documents (mainly for Brackley) 1777-c. 1880, and a volume of maps and plans c. 1880.

A collection of court records and estate records for various estates (from the College solicitors Lee and Pembertons) was transferred to the College by the British Records Association in December 1996 on indefinite loan - see the detailed catalogue at P81. This collection contains the following: P81/CR1: Volumes of Court Rolls for Candlesby, Lincs., 1736-1925; P81/CR2: Index to a Court Roll Book, c.1825/6; P81/CR3: Minutes of Copyhold Courts, 1857-1924; P81/CR4: Lists of Copyholders of College property, 1880s; P81/CR5: Further lists of Copyholders of College property, 1880s; P81/CR6: Volumes of Court Rolls for Multon Hall, Lincs., 1813-1849; P81/E1: Terriers of College property, late 18th cent.; P81/MS1: Progress Account Book, 1894-1910; P81/MS2: Notebook on Copyhold properties, 1833-1882.

12.2 REGISTERS

CP/3/27 Register of manors (c. 1808-1850s)

CP/8/1-29 Printed registers of estates (12 editions) (1901-45)

12.3 LEASES

Leases can be regarded as deeds of title, but they are also vital for the history of estate management. The term of years, the rent or entry fine, and the husbandry covenants can all be historically significant.

Like many corporate owners, Magdalen preferred to lease its major properties to local gentry familes or other substantial owners, on beneficial leases. Beneficial leases were usually granted for twenty or twenty-one years at a low rent, but in practice the lessee had to pay a substantial sum, known as an entry fine, to obtain the lease, and he would then renew the lease every six or seven years, paying another fine for the renewal. The lessee was often permitted to sub-let the land at a full economic rent, known as a rack rent. The fines were negotiable, and the amount paid depended on various factors including the age of the lessee and the current market value of land. The Magdalen leases rarely state the amount of the fine that was paid.

From the early years of the nineteenth century the College was exploring alternative ways of calculating fines, and by the mid-century the policy of beneficial leases had become outmoded.

12.3.1 LEASE REGISTERS

A series of bound registers (titled 'Ledgers') contains copies of college leases and presentations to livings, 1480-1835, as well as other documents relating to the election and admission of Presidents. Volume A (EL/1) is a more general gathering of documents including lists of demies and a record of important events in the early years of the College, such as royal visits.

There are as yet no modern finding aids to this series, but a seventeenth-century index to the early volumes is extant and most of the later volumes have some form of contents list, usually by name of lessee. Continuation registers from 1836 onwards are kept in the Bursary, and researchers should apply to the Senior Bursar for access or information.

Another series of lease registers relates only to the College's properties in Wandsworth during the twentieth century.

(a) General lease registers

EL/1-37 and uncat. Volumes containing copies of leases, presentations and presidential admissions (1480-1953)

CP/3/34 Index to lease registers (1480-early 17th cent.)

(b) Registers of lease surrenders

CP/1/43 President's book of leases not renewed (1864-72)

CP/4/8 Bursary copy of CP/1/43

(c) 20th century Wandsworth leases

CP/8/64 Summary register of leases for the Wandsworth estate (Holloway Bros) (1907-36)

CP/8/66-68 Registers of leases for Wandsworth estate, indexed. (Holloways Properties Ltd) (1901-51; 1907-53; 1922-61)

EL/uncatalogued Registers of deeds for Wandsworth, c 1869-c 1965

12.3.2 LEASE COUNTERPARTS

There are 85 boxes of counterpart leases, dated from the sixteenth to the twentieth centuries. The leases are for properties in all the counties where the college had ancient possessions (see Section 2). Note that these leases are not listed in Woolgar's 'Catalogue'.

The leases have not yet been fully catalogued, but a summary box list for LE/1-76 is available, arranged geographically by counties and manors and stating the date span of each bundle. An item list is available for LE/77-85 which is a later accession.

LE/1-76 Counterpart leases (1517-1935)

LE/77-85 Counterpart leases (1886-1995)

For twentieth-century tenants and leases see the Estate Registers, CP/8/1-29.

See also:

CP/4/8 Volume titled 'Leases running out' (1864-72)

CP/2/63 Volume includes report of Committee on beneficial leases (c. 1870)

LMR/1-43 Additional Deeds - Assignments, surrenders and licences to alienate [amongst other documents] (1701-1906)

12.4 MANORIAL RECORDS

The manors owned by Magdalen were of two types: the single, compact manor and the extended manor whose property was dispersed over a number of locations. Somborne, in Hampshire, is an example of the former and Selborne, also in Hampshire, of the latter. The topographical section of Woolgar's 'Catalogue' lists the appurtenances of each manor.

12.4.1 REGISTERS

CP/3/27 Register of manors (c. 1808-1850s)

EP/261/17 Book of customs and privileges [17th cent.]

12.4.2 EARLY (PRE-FOUNDATION) COURT RECORDS

There are court rolls in the archives which ante-date the transfer of the manor in question to the College. These can be found in the topographically-arranged section of Woolgar's 'Catalogue', vols 4-10.

EP/ [see Woolgar references for individual properties]

12.4.3 COURT RECORDS: MAIN SERIES

Woolgar lists the post-1481 court rolls and court books in volume 2 of his 'Catalogue', pp. 261-350. Some court books are for single manors, but most are composite records of mixed manors. The court proceedings did little more than register changes of tenancy and the payment of manorial fines and amercements; field regulations are rarely found. The volumes are in Latin until at least 1732, except during the Commonwealth period from 1650-60.

EP/56-123 Court rolls, mixed manors (49 items) (1481-1542)

EP/74/8 Court Book, mixed manors (1484)

ECB/1-83 Court Books, mixed manors (1485-1925)

EP/, M.deeds, Adds., ECB/

Court rolls and books for 32 individual manors (1466-1916)

P81/CR1 Volumes of court rolls for Candlesby, Lincs. (1736-1925)

P81/CR2 Index to a court roll book (c.1825/6)

P81/CR5 Volumes of Court Rolls for Multon Hall, Lincs. (1813-1849)

12.4.4 MANORIAL MISCELLANEA

See the topographical section of Woolgar's 'Catalogue', vols 4-10, for manorial miscellanea such as presentments, lists of tenants, extracts of courts and copyhold deeds.

EP/ [see Woolgar references for individual properties]

Adds./1-99 [For presentments see calendar of Adds. deeds]

12.4.5 COPYHOLDS

There were many tenants on Magdalen manors whose title to land came from a copy of the entry in the court roll. Magdalen copyholds were for lives, usually the named copyholder and two others, depending on the custom of the manor. The names of these tenants can be traced in the court rolls and books. From the mid-nineteenth century it was College policy to enfranchise the copyholds and convert the tenancies to leases for years at full rent; copyholds were not abolished by law until 1925, however.

CP/8/63 Accounts volume with state of copyhold lives (1803-79)

CP/1/42 Printed declarations, surrenders of copyholds, with prices paid (1831-79)

P81/MS2 Notebook on Copyhold properties (1833-1882)

CP/3/23 Copyhold enfranchisement register for college properties (1856-1936)

P81/CR3 Minutes of Copyhold Courts (1857-1924)

P81/CR4 Lists of Copyholders of College property (1880s)

P81/CR5 Further lists of Copyholders of College property (1880s)

12.4.6 GAMEKEEPERS

The College 'deputed' named individuals, usually the manorial tenants, to protect and have charge of the game on certain College estates as 'gamekeepers'. Deputations survive for Quinton (Glos.), Bramdean (Hants.), Kings Somborne (Hants.) and Tubney (Berks., now Oxon.).

CS/41/2 Gamekeepers' Deputations, 6 items (1761-1888)

12.5 ESTATE ACCOUNTS

12.5.1 GENERAL

The accounts listed here are those dealing solely with estate matters. For the general series of college and estate accounts see Section 8.

The main series of estate accounts to c. 1883 are listed in Woolgar's 'Catalogue', pp. 358-713, as part of the EP/ series. The form and complex development of the account rolls and books, with the development of the accounting circuits, are set out by Woolgar, pp. 353-7. Changes in administration led to the regrouping of manors and estates from time to time. For example, accounts for Cowfold, Hampshire, may be found firstly as separate accounts under Cowfold, 1484-1540/1, then under Petersfield circuit 1508-c. 1687, and finally under Brackley (Northants.) from c. 1689.

After the 1877 Act to reform the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge (see Section 1.3.4) the Colleges had to change their accounting systems. Estate accounts from c. 1883 were not listed by Woolgar but are now listed in the AO/ series.

12.5.2 EARLY (PRE-FOUNDATION) ACCOUNT ROLLS

Accounts in the EP/ series which ante-date the administration of estates by the College or Bishop Waynflete are listed in the topographical section of Woolgar's 'Catalogue'.

EP/ [See Woolgar 'Catalogue' under names of properties]

12.5.3 CIRCUIT ACCOUNTS AND PROGRESSES TO c. 1883

See Woolgar, 'Catalogue' vol. 1, list of contents, for the following accounts, grouped by circuits and by individual estates.

(a) Circuit accounts listed by Woolgar comprise:

Aynho, Brackley, Lincolnshire, Norfolk & Suffolk, Oxfordshire, Petersfield, Selborne, Sussex

EP/1-262, EPB/1-8 Accounts (c. 1508 - c. 1760)

(b) Individual estate accounts listed by Woolgar comprise:

Berkshire:

Beenham Valence & Wallington; Harwell, Stainswick, Tubney with Frilford & Denchworth (these five now in Oxon.)

Buckinghamshire:

North Marston, Thornborough

Essex:

East New Hall

Gloucestershire:

Brockhampton, Quinton (now Warwicks.), Slimbridge

Hampshire:

Cowfold, Enham, Hampshire, Hilhampton, Otterbourne, Petersfield, Scures, Sombourne

Kent:

Romney Marsh, Old Shoreham rectory

London:

Temple Bar & Southwark

Northamptonshire:

Aynho, Brackley

Nottinghamshire:

East Bridgford

Oxfordshire:

Chalgrove with Benson, Roke and Berrick, Clifton, Forty's Land, Garsington, Golder, Headington, Henton, Horspath, Oxford, Shotover, Standlake [see also Berks.]

Somerset:

Ford

Sussex:

Findon, Sele rectory, Sele receivers

Warwickshire:

Westcote, Willoughby [see also Glos.]

Wiltshire:

Corton Clevancy, Edington, Wanborough

EP/1/261 [see Woolgar] (c. 1484 - c. 1541)

(c) Progress accounts

The annual progress to collect rents and dues from college estates was usually made by one of the Bursars (known as the riding bursar), the President or Vice-President and the college Steward.

See Woolgar, 'Catalogue', pp. 189-196, for progress accounts in the D-Y/ and EP/ series. These consist of 18 volumes, 16 bundles, and 11 single items, and are receipt accounts. Progress accounts catalogued by Woolgar survive as follows:

Hants. (1596-1849)

Lincs. (1612-1879)

London (1628)

Norfolk & Suffolk (1607-1880)

Sussex (1617-66; 1812-78)

Mixed (1628-81; 1790-1843)

See also:

CP/1/40 Volume of indexed progress accounts (1885-95)

MS 751 Notes on bursarial cycle ([19th cent.])

For notes on progresses see also:

CP/8/62 Bursar's ledger and act book (1843-53)

CP/8/48 Accounts volume (1881-83)

P81/MS1 Progress Account Book (1894-1910)

12.5.4 RENTALS AND RENT ACCOUNTS, TO c. 1883

(a) Rentals, i.e. lists of rents due on various estates

CP/3/6 Copies of rentals, mixed counties, with terriers and tithe impropriations. Indexed. (1551-1772)

CP/3/7 Rental, mixed counties. Includes notes on the methods of auditing and of granting leases. (1666-c. 1760s)

CP/3/8 Rental, mixed counties. Indexed. (1684-1726)

CP/8/41 Rental and survey of estates in Lincs, Northants, Notts, Warwicks (n.d. [early 18th cent.])

CP/3/9 Rental, mixed counties, recording improved value of estates. Indexed. (1766)

(Volume also includes list of college maps, extracts from wills, notes on method of accounting, bursars' fees, tenants' addresses, money borrowed on the Freeman Court account c. 1766-82)

CP/3/10 Rental, mixed counties, indexed (1768)

(Includes notes on rents, college revenues, estates acquired since the Founder's time; c. 1768-87, list of maps drawn 1612-1787)

CP/3/11 Rental, mixed counties. Indexed. (1789; with list of maps 1676-1812)

CP/3/12 Rental, mixed counties. Indexed. (1791)

CP/8/73 Rental of college estates with note of mutuum fund (1850)

See also:

CP/8/47 Register of College properties and tenants ([late 19th cent.])

(b) Rent account books, general

CP/3/43 Rent account book (1649-1770)

CP/3/42 Rent account book (1851-61)

CP/8/77 Book of memoranda incl. rents (mid-19th cent.)

CP/3/37 Blagrave's register of corn rents and rack-rent, also costs of land tax, income tax, repairs (1875-80)

CP/3/40 Blagrave's rent account book. Indexed (1869-80)

CP/8/48 Rents received, with information on Hants. and Lincs. progresses (1881-3**)**

P81/MS1 Progress Account Book (1894-1910)

(c) Rent accounts for specific properties

MS 633 Accounts for land near Nuneaton, Warwicks, acquired through Cave benefaction (1573/4-1717)

CS/38/4 Accounts, Willington, Warwicks. (c. 1723-5)

CP/1/36-7 Freeman's Court (from c.1844 the Royal Exchange Building) account books (1763-1880)

CP/3/35 Rentals of London and Southwark estates (1843; 1847)

CP/8/36 Rent acct. book, Oxford City properties (1860-80)

CP/3/24 Volume of rents, Messrs Franklin, Ascott mainly for Tubney and Willoughby (1879-81)

(d) Fine accounts

These record the entry and renewal fines paid by tenants on beneficial leases, who subsequently paid a nominal annual rent augmented by a corn rent (see Section 12.5.4.(e)). The fines were paid on entering a new lease and when the leases were renewed, normally every seven years. From 1804 the College entered upon a policy of increasing the corn rents paid by beneficial lessees, and from 1808 the quit-rents paid by copyholders were also increased; a loan fund was set up to supply the temporary deficiency caused by the decrease in fines.

CP/3/13 Fine book, mixed counties. Indexed (c. 1721-1878)

CP/3/14 Fines account book: fines liquidated; loans, mortgages. Indexed. (c. 1865-72)

AO/12/1 Fines ledger (1865-97)

See also

CS/36/17 Memorandum re income from estate entry fines (n.d. [early 18th cent.])

CP/8/63 Loan account vol. (1803-79)

See also

ES/ series (subject index), for memoranda concerning the method of calculating fines, with related matters.

(e) Corn rent books

See Woolgar, 'Catalogue' pp. 140-1.

These volumes record additional rents payable by tenants with beneficial leases, the amount determined by the current price of corn in Oxford market. In accordance with Sir Thomas Smith's Act, 18 Elizabeth c.6 (1576), the Oxford and Cambridge colleges and the colleges of Eton and Winchester were permitted to levy these rents as a hedge against inflation.

There are three series, now given reference codes as follows:

CB/1-164 Corn books, general series (1594-1786)

CBP/1-69 Corn books, President's copies (1789-1883)

CBB/1-74 Corn books, Bursars' copies (1786-1887)

Note: Some of the earlier volumes have been badly affected by damp and are unfit for production.

See also:

CP/3/21 Volume of memoranda concerning new corn rents, following College Order of 16 Nov 1803 (1803-30)

CP/8/63 Acct vol. recording new corn rents (1803-79)

(f) Wine account

MS 750/iii Notes on wine money paid annually by tenants or bailiffs (n.d.)

CS/36/10/3 Wine money audit (1675)

12.5.5 WOOD SALES ACCOUNTS, TO c. 1883

See Woolgar, pp. 197-208, for wood sales accounts in the D-Y/ and EP/ series. See Woolgar, vol. 2, for estate accounts for the woodwards of Tubney, Shotover and Brackley, and see the Selborne circuit accounts in general. The records consist of 2 volumes, 56 bundles and 43 single items, listed as follows:

Berks. (Tubney, now Oxon.) (1550-1869)

Hants. (1619-1766)

Hants. (Selborne) (1625)

Oxon. (Henton) (1649)

Oxon. (Horsington) (1730)

Oxon. (Huntercombe) (1650-85)

Oxon. (Shotover) (1676)

Northants. (1633-75; n.d. [17th cent.]_

Sussex (c. 1722-45)

Mixed (1630-68 and n.d. [17th-18th cents.])

See also

CP/1/33 Timber book (1788-1853)

12.5.6 ESTATE ACCOUNTS POST-1883: GENERAL VOLUMES

(a) Estates Bursars' accounts for estates in general

CP/4/7/9 Receipts ledger, Oxon. and other estates (1851-75)

AO/73/1-3 Estate Bursar's day books (1882-4)

AO/51/1-2 Estates ledgers (1884-99)

AO/8/1-9 Estates cash and contra ledgers (1902-44)

AO/11/1-4 Estates journal volumes (1896-1946)

AO/17/1-7 Estate Bursar's rough cash books (c. 1920s-1946)

AO/18/1-4 Estates Bursar's rough cash receipt books (1931-41)

AO/19/1-4 Estates Bursar/s rough cash payment books (1931-41)

(b) Land Agent's accounts

AO/16/1-31 Land Agent's accounts volumes (1883-1913)

12.5.7 RENT ACCOUNTS POST-1883

(a) Rental volumes after the change in the accounting system, 1882 (see Section 8,b)

AO/52/1-63 Rent roll volumes (1883-1945)

AO/53/1-3 Rent allowance volumes (1884-99)

See also

CP/8/1-29 Registers of College estates (1900-45)

CP/8/44 Registers of farm and house applications and notices to quit (1905-9)

CP/8/70 Register of notices to quit (1930-52)

(b) Accounts files

AO/63/1-2 Accounts files: farms (1914-51)

AO/68/1-2 Accounts files: Oxford (1905-51)

AO/69/1 Accounts file: London, Wandsworth (1904-50)

(c) Accounts for individual estates

AO/46/1 Wandsworth ground rents volume (1900-c. 1962)

12.5.8 ACCOUNTS FOR ESTATE REPAIRS

CP/8/77 Book of memoranda incl. rents and repairs [mid-19th cent.]

CP/3/26 Estimates for repairs and improvements for College properties (1888-90**)**

AO/34/1 Repairs and improvements ledger (c. 1930-37**)**

AO/35/1 Repairs and improvements (weekly totals, with other accounts) (1931-3)

AO/71/1-4 Record cards of maintenance accts. for Magd. properties, filed alphabetically. 4 boxes. (c. 1930s)

12.5.9 SPECIAL ACCOUNTS

AO/67/1 File: Forest Products Ltd (c. 1937-48)

12.5.10 GENERAL ACCOUNTING PAPERS AND VOUCHERS

See Woolgar, 'Catalogue', pp. 142-8, for general estate accounts and vouchers, i.e. items from M[acray] Misc. and EP/ series. These records consist of 15 bundles and 31 single documents, mainly 19th century receipts. The payment vouchers include detailed bills from surveyors and builders relating to College estates and parsonage houses, and also enclosure expenses.

M.Misc. and EP/ Receipts and expenses (1432-1620)

Note of sequestration payments (1651)

Receipts, bills, accounts, fine papers (1674-1833)

Vouchers (1860-84)

12.6 ESTATE ADMINISTRATIVE VOLUMES AND PAPERS

12.6.1 SURVEYS, TERRIERS AND VALUATIONS

Terriers are especially valuable for recording common-field lands distributed in strips or 'lands' (hence 'terre') through the common field systems. Surveys are the most comprehensive of these three.

CP/3/15 Lewis Andrewes survey volume, mixed counties (1677-85)

CP/3/16 Blunt & Gutteridge survey, Berks., Oxon., Warwicks., Wilts (1767-8)

CS/36/19 Estates surveys (1755-63)

CP/3/18 Selborne (Hants.) survey (1793)

P81/E1 Terriers of College property (late 18th cent.)

CP/3/19 Henton Oxon.) survey (1806)

CP/3/20 Chalgrove (Oxon.) survey (1822)

CP/3/17 Survey, Berks., Oxon. and Wilts. (n.d. [18th cent.])

CP/3/36 Valuation of Willoughby (Warwicks.) and Henton & Golder (Oxon.) (1808)

CP/8/76 Alphabetical survey of College estates (1846)

CP/3/25 File of valuations of live and dead stock, Alton, Hants.; Candlesby, Lincs., Caldecott Farm, Lincs., with detailed farm accounts (1883-93)

CP/3/26 File of valuations and estimates for repairs and improvements to farms in Berks., Oxon. and Wilts. (1885-90)

CP/8/1-29 Registers of estates (1900-45)

CP/8/31-4 TS reports on college properties,4 vols (1930-7)

See also:

EP/1-261 [See Woolgar, 'Catalogue', vols 4-10]

D-Y/1-457 [See Woolgar, 'Catalogue', vols 4-10]

Adds./ 1-99 [See Woolgar, 'Catalogue', vols 4-10]

ES/1-13 [See indexed list of ES/ records]

12.6.2 ENCLOSURE RECORDS

CP/3/1 Volume of copies of, or extracts from, the following enclosure awards from 1775-1808:

Horsington, Lincs. (1775)

Titchwell, Norfolk (1787)

Harwell, Berks. (now Oxon.) (1804)

South Newington, Oxon. (1795)

Denchworth, Berks. (now Oxon.) (1803)

Thornborough, Bucks. (1800)

Deddington and Great Barford, Oxon. (1808)

CP/3/2 Enclosure award, East Bridgford, Notts. (1801)

CP/3/3 Attested copy of award for Horsington, Lincs. (1775)

CP/3/4 Copy of award for Willoughby, Warwicks. (with related material) (1766)

CP/3/5 Extracts from enclosure awards for Everley, Northants. (1760) and Tempsford, Beds. (1778)

EP/238/4 Payment vouchers include expenses of Kirton enclosure (1872)

[not all bundles of vouchers have been examined]

CP/2/63 Committee reports re Kirton enclosure (1869-70)

See also:

EP/1-261 [See Woolgar, 'Catalogue', vols 4-10]

MP/1-3 Copies of enclosure and pre-enclosure maps

12.6.3 MEMORANDA BOOKS

(a) Bursars' memoranda books

CP/8/37-8 Bursar's private day books (1854; 1859)

CP/8/42-43 Notebooks of J. E. Henderson, Bursar (1871-8; 1877-82)

CP/8/71 Bursar's memoranda book (1871-8)

CP/8/40 Accounts and memoranda book (1880-2)

CP/8/72 Bursar's notebook (1881-3)

CP/3/26 Bursarial memoranda and estimates (1888-90)

(b) Stewards' memoranda books

See MS 805 for list of stewards

CP/8/7-8 Notebooks of annual valuations (early 19th cent.)

CP/37-41 Memoranda books of Edward Blagrave (1857-80)

See also

CP/8/77 Book of memoranda incl. rents and repairs (mid-19th cent.)

12.7 ESTATE CORRESPONDENCE

12.7.1 GENERAL CORRESPONDENCE

See Woolgar. 'Catalogue', pp. 149-88 for general correspondence.

MS 367, no.2 Volume of (mainly) medieval letters

includes: letter re fines and copyholds (c. 1590)

[See Woolgar: some listed as Letters series]

CS/35/7 Petitions re estates (20) (1591-1665 and n.d.)

CS/36/13,14,17 Estate corr. and papers (18th cent.)

ES/1-13, esp. ES/7-8

Miscellaneous estate corr - see separate catalogue, (mainly 17th-18th cents.)

CP/9/46 Bundle of corr, incl. estate matters (1858)

CP/8/35 Copy letter book of C. P. Carter, Bursar (Jan-Jun 1921)

12.7.2 CORRESPONDENCE ARRANGED BY PROPERTIES

B/Est/1-94 Correspondence files - see separate catalogue (1908-49; mainly 1930-45)

There are also many correspondence files about College estates from the 1930s to the 1950s in Accession Nos. 00/112, 02/08, 02/9, and 02/10. These have not been catalogued in full, but summary lists of them are available in word-processed form.

See also Woolgar, Catalogue, vols 4-10 for correspondence c. 16th -early 20th cents, arranged topographically. Note that B/Est boxes are not listed in Woolgar.

12.8 ESTATES ACTS AND BOARD OF AGRICULTURE FILES

CP/3/28 Register of transactions with the Land Commissioners (1859-1900)

A0/60/1 Board/Ministry of Agriculture: Fish and Food orders (c. 1872-1953)

AO/61/1 Transactions with Board of Agriculture (1899-c. 1950)

AO/62/1 File of Ministry of Agriculture cash accounts (1921-1964)

CP/9/73 Historical files on the Universities and Colleges Estates Acts (c. 1955-64)

12.9 ILLUSTRATIVE MATERIAL

12.9.1 MAPS, PLANS AND ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS

Maps and plans have been listed in three principal groups. Those kept with the muniments were listed by Francis Steer in 1977 as Group I (now MP/1). Maps and plans transferred from the Bursary were catalogued on cards as Group II (folded series, now MP/2) and Group III (rolled series, now MP/3). There are also two bound volumes (MP/4-5). A ts list and index is available for the MP/ series, which includes some architectural drawings for Colleg estates.

In addition, there may be maps and sketch plans for individual properties amongst the EP/ and D-Y/ series, which will be found listed in Woolgar's 'Catalogue', together with references to maps of pre-1800 date in the MP/1 series. See also C. M. Woolgar, 'A late sixteenth century map of St Clement's, Oxford', Oxoniensia, XLVI (1981), 94-8.

MP/1/1-108 Estate maps and plans, arranged by counties (1612-1973)

[Includes drawings of College properties in Cornhill (1805), Chancery Lane (1814) and Bermondsey, Southwark (1792, 1814) by J. Buckler]

MP/1/109,111-21 Architectural drawings for College-owned buildings at Beaconsfield, Bucks (c. 1862) and Cornhill, London (1905-6)

MP/2 18 boxes of estate maps, arranged by counties, based mainly on O.S.maps (c. 1760-20th cent.)

MP/3/1-150 Estate and College maps and plans, listed by counties [series now closed] (from 1810)

MP/4-5 Two bound volumes, indexed (late 19th-early 20th cents)

See also

ES/6/5 Tithe award map for Tubney, Berks. [now Oxon.] (1841)

(previously listed as an enclosure map)

MS 633 Maps of land at Nuneaton (Cave's benefaction) and sale catalogue (1837)

12.9.2 PHOTOGRAPHS

FA1/9/3P/1 Photograph album compiled by G. E. Baker, Bursar includes photographs of estates (c. 1885-1910)

12.10 COLLEGE LIVINGS

There is a list of advowsons in Section 2.2.2. In general, see Woolgar, 'Catalogue' and MS index under place names; see also the records of the Dean of Divinity, Section 6.1.3. Presentments can be traced, from at least the eighteenth century) through the indexed College Orders (CMM/, by name of the living) or the lease registers (EL/, by name of incumbent). Since most of those presented to livings were ex-Fellows or Demies there is often biographical information on the incumbents in the Registers of Bloxam and Macray. Any expenditure on buildings or schools had to be authorised by the College Meeting and later by the Bursarial Committee: see Section 2 for CMM/ and BCM/ series. The annual account books, LCE/, may also record payments for repairs, but from c. 1848 the Sheppard Fund was earmarked for expenditure of this sort.

12.10.1 GENERAL

MSS 351-353 A view of benefices by John Ecton, 3 vols (18th cent.)

MS 520 Folder on livings (1735-90)

PR30/4/N1/2 Acts of Parliament relating to benefices, esp Tilehurst, Berks. 1820-50)

MS 744 Account of College livings, 2 vols and extracts from College Orders 1726-1838 (19th cent.)

MS 745 Report on 33 college livings (19th cent.)

MS 623 Account of the livings of Candlesby, Horsington, Saltfleetby and Swaby, Lincs. (19th cent.)

12.10.2 ACCOUNTS

(a) General expenses

MS 905(iv) Sheppard account book, incl. payments for livings, repairs to parsonages etc. (1848-82)

See also:

CP/2/63 Committee report on the augmentation of livings (c. 1878)

(b) Tithe accounts

CP/3/6 Rentals volume includes tithe impropriations (1551-1772)

ES/5/18 General accounts include tithe valuations (n.d. [post-1802])

CP/3/30 Land tax redemption register lists College livings and their assessed land tax (1823-37)

CP/8/65 Vol of extracts from tithe apportionments. Indexed (n.d. [late 19th/early 20th cents.])

CP/8/74 Valuation of Basing tithes; 1 vol (1814)

CP/8/45 Tithe collection file (1906-35)

CP/8/60 Tithe papers, Hants. (1845-1925)

12.10.3 BUILDINGS

MP/1 & 3 Maps and plans relating to College livings [see 12.9.1]

MS 743 Papers and plans re Tubney church, designed by Pugin (1843-72)

MS 905 Copy contract for building Theale church (1825)

CS/36 Accounts for work on Basingstoke Parsonage

FA1/9/3P/1 Photograph album [see 12.9.2] (c. 1885-1910)

12.10.4 CORRESPONDENCE AND MEMORANDA

MS 499 Letters and papers re 26 benefices (18th-19th cents)

MS 500 Letters and papers re 29 benefices (19th cent.)

MS 741 Letters and papers re need for a church or chapel at Lower Beeding Sussex (1828-88)

MS 751 Notes on livings (1858-87)

MS 918 Letters, papers and Parliamentary Bills re seven livings (19th-20th cents)

MS 501 Newscuttings, lists of incumbents and notices re College benefices (19th cent.)

MS 856 Corr. re presentation to Ashbury, Berks. (now Oxon.). (1919-21)

Some correspondence files about College livings dating from the 1920s and later have been transferred from the Bursary as Accession No. 00/111. This collection has not been catalogued but a summary list is available.

12.10.5 HISTORICAL PAPERS

CP/9/51 Notes on Livings Fund (created 1700) 1700-54 (1867)

MS 498 Bloxam's 'Book of the Benefices' (19th cent)

MS 805 Bloxam's notes on the value of livings (19th cent)